Books I have bought for the BMW so far

I have been stocking the library up for books to keep the BMW on the road.  This is what I have so far.  I found lots of info on the web as well
BMW 3 and 5 Series 1982-1992 (Haynes Manuals)
BMW Enthusiast’s Companion: Owner Insights on Driving, Performance and Service
BMW 3 Series (E30) Service Manual: 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990

The BMW

Last month, we decided that the SAAB experiment wasn’t going to work.  Paul sent me my money back and the search for a weekend toy convertible started all over again.

IMG_8188

Here is what I got, a 1987 BMW 325i.   I have had it out with the girls the last 2 weekends and it has been a blast.   I am really enjoying it.

Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

A Week Closer

One week to go and it is going to be a strange on.  Monday morning I am going up the the Gallo offices to sign my I-9’s, show proof of employment, and I will officially return to Gallo from my leave of absence.  The kicker is I still have Glazer’s work to do, so I will then drive down to the Glazers office to start the last week at my desk there.  The rest of the day I will be bouncing between both jobs with 2 conference calls, a web training session, and running a meeting that both jobs are supposed to attend with different roles. 

I am getting more excited about the new job everyday, and it has been bittersweet handing off my responsibilities one by one this week.   My boss pulled a report to track business and was shocked because my name wasn’t on it, all of my vendors had already been reassigned.

Anyhow, the clock keeps ticking and the time keeps rolling by (which reminds me, I bought another watch today)

This is Odd

I haven’t posted here in almost three years.  Back then, I was transitioning between jobs from Gallo to Glazers.  Now here I am two weeks from transitioning back again. 

It has been an interesting time.   Glazers certainly taught me allot about my career, but myself as well.   The offer to go back to Gallo into the Regional Sales Controller job is something that I have been working for a long time.  Hopefully it offers the challenges and opportunities I expect it to.

Home Again

We spent the morning driving back to Houston from Dallas.  I really don’t like the drive, but  we won’t have to make it many more times.
 
We have started the negotiation progress on the things that turned up from the inspections.    On the Richmond house they are asking to have the roof replaced and the A/C coil replaced.  Luckily, the roof is under warranty so that shouldn’t be an issue, and the A/C is checking out OK as far as the readings are going, so the homeowners warranty that we are buying them should cover it.  A couple of other small things and we should be done.
 
On the Plano house, everything checked out fine.  They haven’t been maintaining the AC units, so we are asking them for a service on both.  They also have to replace the garbage disposal and a sprinkler head, but overall no big deal.
 
Check the photos and you can see the interior shots Melia took of the house during the inspection.  Hopefully we can get an exterior shot posted sometime soon.
 
Tomorrow, the Gulf Coast Healey Club is having a tech session at the shop where I have my Healey.  Hopefully I can use the time and make some progress on the car as it will be the last time I will get to work on it before the move.  One of the Dallas Healey club guys is going to help me get the car up there, so that is a big relief.

Moving On

15 days into my career at Glazers, and I must say that I am really enjoying the job.  There will be lots of challenges, but I am working in a very professional environment with a culture of cooperation, so I am sure that this will be a good move.
 
We were blessed, as we sold our house last Monday, so I brought the girls up with me Sunday to house hunt.  Fate was smiling on us again today as we found out our offer was accepted on a house in North Plano.  The subdivision is stellar, the house is built by a great builder and is walking distance from a park, the pool, and  a few blocks away from a new YMCA.   Thanks to modern technology, you can see it from the air by clicking HERE
 
It looks like we are moving Easter Weekend, so stay tuned for that drama!
 
 

Changes

Well, effective the first, I went on an official leave of absence from Gallo and started work at Glazers.   Not only am I changing companies for the first time since 1993, I am moving from the sales side of the business to the finance side.  That is a little unsetteling for a political science major, but I know I will do well.